top of page

A poem to recite to a mopey gelding

I take a lyrical detour from my objective, documentary agenda to confess to a profound love and connection I have developed with one of the horses I have been working with and photographing.

Sorento Karma König.

Sorento Karma König at dawn

My Sorento is sulking.

Accustomed to my coming to see him, feed him, love him, groom him, work with him & walk with him at least twice week for the past two years, the Karma King takes it with a heavy heart that I can no longer do that now that I have a full time job. Once week is apparently is not enough, and it wont be until the weekend when we see each other again.

This poem, writen by Hafiz, and recited to me by my friend Rie earlier this year, is my way of blowing my mopey gelding a kiss on the nostril, and patting him on the neck in the meantime.

I Know The Way You Can Get

I know the way you can get

When you have not had a drink of Love:

Your face hardens,

Your sweet muscles cramp.

Children become concerned

About a strange look that appears in your eyes

Which even begins to worry your own mirror

And nose.

Squirrels and birds sense your sadness

And call an important conference in a tall tree.

They decide which secret code to chant

To help your mind and soul.

Even angels fear that brand of madness

That arrays itself against the world

And throws sharp stones and spears into

The innocent

And into one's self.

O I know the way you can get

If you have not been drinking Love:

You might rip apart

Every sentence your friends and teachers say,

Looking for hidden clauses.

You might weigh every word on a scale

Like a dead fish.

You might pull out a ruler to measure

From every angle in your darkness

The beautiful dimensions of a heart you once

Trusted.

I know the way you can get

If you have not had a drink from Love's

Hands.

That is why all the Great Ones speak of

The vital need

To keep remembering God,

So you will come to know and see Him

As being so Playful

And Wanting,

Just Wanting to help.

That is why Hafiz says:

Bring your cup near me.

For all I care about

Is quenching your thirst for freedom!

All a Sane man can ever care about

Is giving Love!

Related Posts

See All
Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Etsy
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page