top of page

Combining Art & Healing - Meditative Photography with Medicine Horses

One of the first things practitioners-in-training learn about Medicine Horse sessions that it doesn't have to look any particular way. In fact, it can look ANY and every way it needs to; "look" being the keyword. This session with a volunteer client was about looking. Looking at the horses through the lens of a digital camera.

I met with Penny, my volunteer client, on the last day of 2017. By volunteering as a client, Penny donated her time and her presence for me to practice Equine Facilitated Wellness with Medicine Horses, and in return, she got a free guided meditative photography session.

It was an interesting hour with a steep learning curve for both of us. Penny, a painter and geomancer, had little experience with photography, and I had never held a photo workshop. In an attempt to 'teach' my way of looking at and photographing the Medicine Horses, I kept nudging Penny in certain directions, showing her interesting angles and parts of the equine body, but I soon realized that Penny had her own intuitive way and her own unique, exquisite perspective. The point-and-shoot I lent her for the session was not focusing properly, but what appeared to be a technical setback turned out to be a essential lucky element in Penny's artistic process. The gallery bellow offers only a fragment of the resulting stunning work she produced.

Penny's photos

Related Posts

See All
Related posts
Recent Posts
Follow Us
  • Etsy
  • Instagram
  • Facebook
bottom of page